Awards and Recognition

We love celebrating our amazing colleagues and museum supporters.

Every year, at our Annual Meeting, we announce awardees in our field — all of whom have been nominated by colleagues and museum staff.

Nominations open every August before our Annual Meeting. Save the date and remember to recognize the colleagues, museums, volunteers, and donors that go above and beyond for your museum and our field.


Excellence in the Field

Organizations or Individuals

Nominations may be made for exceptional exhibits, collections care, planning, marketing, publications, significant improvements to physical plant, conservation, etc.

Award: Museums receive a plaque. Individuals receive an award created by an Alaskan artist.

Outstanding Volunteer Award


Nominations acknowledge the crucial roles volunteers perform in our museum and cultural center communities. Help us celebrate their importance to our success by nominating any volunteer, whether docent, a community supporter, or a member of your Board of Directors. 

Award: An award created by an Alaskan artist.

Museum Champion

Organizations or Individuals

Nominations recognize any donor, funder, or contributor for outstanding support of museums and cultural centers in Alaska, in funding or in in-kind support. Nominations may be for individuals, foundations, corporations, cities, or other supporting entities.

Award: A donation to the museum in honor of the awardee. A certificate mailed to the awardee.

Award in Honor of Lifetime Achievement


Nominations recognize the contributions of an individual over a career. Help us celebrate their contributions by nominating an individual who is departing the field, from all sectors of the field. 

Award: Varies.

Midnight Sun Award

Organizations or Individuals

The Midnight Sun Award is an optional award that may be awarded for extraordinary achievements. It will be awarded the discretion of the awards committee based on the nominations of the above awards. If the committee feels that multiple nominees are deserving of one of the above awards, they may choose to award a Midnight Sun award to one of the year’s nominees.

Award: An award created by an Alaskan artist.

Past Award Winners

2023 – Sue Deyoe – Award for Lifetime Achievement

Our Lifetime Achievement awardee is Sue Deyoe, former executive director of Talkeetna Historical Society! Christine Carpenter presented the award: “When Sue was hired by the Talkeetna Historical Society, the museum was on the verge of folding. With Sue’s guidance and vision, not to mention tenacity and passion, she has brought the museum to be a much loved part of the community. […]

2023 – CJ Jones – Midnight Sun Award

We have a new award this year. We received several nominations for the Lifetime Achievement Award and both were extremely worthy. Our next awardee is still very active in the field, so we have decided to award her our Midnight Sun Award! The Midnight Sun Award is an award that may be awarded for extraordinary achievements. Our very first Midnight Sun Awardee is […]

2023 – Faith Revell – Award for Excellence in the Field

This year’s awardee is Faith Revell, Curator of Education and Public Programs, Valdez Museum and Historical Archive! Patty Relay presented the award: “In 2011, I hired Faith Revell as the Valdez Museum & Historical Archives first Curator of Education & Public Programs. Since that time, Faith has embraced the role of Community Connector. In addition to working with the schools […]

2022 – June Simeonoff Pardue – President’s Award for Lifetime Achievement

The President’s Award for Lifetime Achievement, went to June Simeonoff Pardue, an Alutiiq and Inupiaq Master artist born in Old Harbor. She has worked with museums across the state and country, and her Alutiiq basketry, grass woven socks and beadwork can be viewed at the Alutiiq Museum, the Alaska Native Heritage Center, the Palmer Museum […]

2022 – Randall Lamb and Carvel Glenn – Museum Champion

This year’s Museum Champion award went to Randall Lamb and Carvel Glenn—two amazing supporters from Texas who visited Alaska on a cruise. When they stopped in Sitka, they were so inspired by their visit to the Sheldon Jackson Museum that they not only gave several generous gifts over the years, but in 2021, they also […]

2022 – Michael Marks – Volunteer of the Year

This award went to a very familiar face in Haines—Michael Marks. According to every cultural center in Haines, Michael Marks is one of their best volunteers. Michael gained his appreciation for arts and cultural organizations growing up in New York City. Later in life, he continued his love and support for the arts as the […]

2022 – Kodiak History Museum – Award for Excellence in the Field

Over the past few years, the Kodiak History Museum has been undergoing major changes and improvements—from their renovation and name change several years ago to beginning the process to digitize their entire collection. They have also created a social justice exhibition model to develop more community-driven exhibitions, managed a major asphalt art project for the […]

2021 – Dawn Biddison – Award for Excellence in the Field

Dawn Biddison is a Museum Specialist at the Smithsonian Arctic Studies Center based at the Anchorage Museum. Dawn Biddison has been instrumental in the Material Traditions programs continuing success. She works extensively with the artists and community to organize, conduct and video-document the material gathering and processing events.