Awards and Recognition

We love celebrating our amazing colleagues and museum supporters.

Every year, at our Annual Meeting, we announce awardees in our field — all of whom have been nominated by colleagues and museum staff.

Nominations open every August before our Annual Meeting. Save the date and remember to recognize the colleagues, museums, volunteers, and donors that go above and beyond for your museum and our field.


Excellence in the Field

Organizations or Individuals

Nominations may be made for exceptional exhibits, collections care, planning, marketing, publications, significant improvements to physical plant, conservation, etc.

Award: Museums receive a plaque. Individuals receive an award created by an Alaskan artist.

Outstanding Volunteer Award


Nominations acknowledge the crucial roles volunteers perform in our museum and cultural center communities. Help us celebrate their importance to our success by nominating any volunteer, whether docent, a community supporter, or a member of your Board of Directors. 

Award: An award created by an Alaskan artist.

Museum Champion

Organizations or Individuals

Nominations recognize any donor, funder, or contributor for outstanding support of museums and cultural centers in Alaska, in funding or in in-kind support. Nominations may be for individuals, foundations, corporations, cities, or other supporting entities.

Award: A donation to the museum in honor of the awardee. A certificate mailed to the awardee.

Award in Honor of Lifetime Achievement


Nominations recognize the contributions of an individual over a career. Help us celebrate their contributions by nominating an individual who is departing the field, from all sectors of the field. 

Award: Varies.

Midnight Sun Award

Organizations or Individuals

The Midnight Sun Award is an optional award that may be awarded for extraordinary achievements. It will be awarded the discretion of the awards committee based on the nominations of the above awards. If the committee feels that multiple nominees are deserving of one of the above awards, they may choose to award a Midnight Sun award to one of the year’s nominees.

Award: An award created by an Alaskan artist.

Past Award Winners

2021 – Elaine Kingeekuk – President’s Award in Honor of Lifetime Achievement

Elaine Kingeekuk has been sharing her knowledge about skin sewing with students, artists, and museums for over 30 years. Ms. Kingeekuk was born and raised in Savoonga and comes from a long line of St. Lawrence Island Yupik artists. Through her commitment to passing on St. Lawrence Island Yupik culture and heritage, Elaine Kingeekuk has […]

2021 – Paul Gill – Volunteer of the Year Award

It is rare to find someone who understands the importance of the daily maintenance associated with caring for a National Historic Landmark. From putting up storm windows to moving furniture and taking out recycling, Paul has contributed over 40 hours of volunteering with the Kodiak History Museum in 2021 and even advocates for the museum […]

2021 – Dr. Donald W. Clark – Museum Champion

Raised in Kodiak, Clark was a leader in studying the archipelago’s history. He was locally known as the “father of Kodiak archaeology”. In a final act of generosity, Clark left a total of $2.45 million dollars to the Kodiak History Museum and the Alutiiq Museum in his estate. The funds represent a substantial portion of […]